Sigma Tau Delta Banquet

Contributed by Professor Nelson

The Dakota State University chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society, held their annual banquet Thursday night at Nicky’s restaurant in Madison, inducting four new members and celebrating three graduating seniors.  The group also honored Dr. Nancy Moose, who has taught English and education courses at DSU since 1981 and is retiring after this school year.

Chapter president Jenna Jewell of Florence, SD, welcomed new members, Dan Crisler of Arlington, Brittney Heiberger of Hartford, Nikki Mann of Brookings, and April Reyelts of Wilmot.  All are English majors at DSU.  The four received certificates of membership, pins, and a lifelong membership to Sigma Tau Delta, an organization that features over 800 chapters world-wide.  The inductees are also now eligible for scholarships, presentations, and other benefits of membership.

The three graduating seniors include Jenna Jewell, Nikki Mann, and Sara Beauchamp, from New London, MN.  Jewell is graduating with an English Education degree, Mann with a degree in General Studies, and Beauchamp with an English for Information Systems degree.  Jewell has served as president of the group the past year, with Amy Woolston serving as vice-president, Catheryn Vogel as secretary, and Nic Brosz as webmaster.  Dr. John Nelson serves as faculty advisor.

Sigma Tau Delta, and its chapter at DSU, Alpha Gamma Lambda, is dedicated to the promotion of reading and literacy and to the celebration of literature, language, and writing.  The organization was established at Dakota Wesleyan University in 1924 and now has its headquarters in DeKalb, IL.  The DSU chapter produces an annual creative writing magazine, New Tricks, collects books for distribution world-wide, and hosts events on campus, among other activities.


Leave a Reply